Story of Trofeo Luigi Fagioli

The history of the Trofeo Luigi Fagioli begins in 1966, when the newborn Committee decides to honor the figure of the great pilot from Marche and Eugubino by adoption, organizing an hill climb race. Already in the twenties the road that connects Gubbio with Perugia, then a dusty and disconnected track, was chosen for a car race.

It was the Coppa della Mengara, from the name of the pass along the route. The track then wound on the Perugia side of the climb, starting from Ponte Felcino. For the first edition of the Trofeo Luigi Fagioli, in 1966, the organizers, headed by the commendator Ubaldo Balducci and Wladimiro Ghigi, chose instead the side of Gubbio.

The starting line was set along the straight of Villa Fassia with arrival in Mengara after 5 kilometers of route. On June 5, 1966, a large crowd rushed to enjoy the show of the beautiful cars at the start: Abarth, Alfa TZ, SZ, Giulia SS, Flamina Zagato, Ferrari, Porche and many others that have made the history of tourism cars of the sixties. The victory went to Clemente Ravetto at the wheel of a Ferrari. The Trofeo Luigi Fagioli took place on the Ponte D'Assi-Mengara route for two editions.

In 1967 the race was unfortunately marred by a serious accident, costing the life of a security officer. From the following year the organizing committee decided to transfer the trophy along the hairpin bends of the Eugubina state road, which climbs towards the Madonna della Cima Pass, in the Gorge of Bottaccione. Meanwhile, the technique makes giant steps and start to appear the first prototypes, the first sports cars specifically built for competition in this type of uphill races. The averages speed rise more each year and the times of 4 km and 150 meters of the race dramatically decrease. The seventies are marked by the splendid victories of some historic drivers of hill climb motoring: Domenico Scola, Pietro Laureati, "Gianfranco", Gabriele Ciuti, who was the first to fall under the two-minute wall in the 1976 edition.

In the eighties the victories of the Turin Gianni Varese (four consecutive wins) of the Bolognese doctor Caliceti, Bogani, Bielanski and Braconi.

The nineties arrived with other great protagonists who dominated the national and international scenes of the hill climb: Curatolo, Iaria, Ritacca, Nesti, Danti, Tschager and Irlando, whose names are seen in the golden list of the Trofeo Luigi Fagioli . The records were lowered more and more with Franz Tschager arriving at 1'43''12 that remained unbeaten until 2008 with the advent of the new monsters proposed by Enzo Osella and led by Simone Faggioli.

The 2001 and 2002 editions were dominated by Simone Faggioli, ruler in the last years of the CIVM. In 2003 the Orvietan Fabrizio Fattorini was the winner. The 2004 edition was finally won after many attempts by the great Franco Cinelli. In 2005 table win by Fabrizio Peroni on Irlando. In 2006, with the return of the CIVM title (Italian Hilll Climb Championship), Simone Faggioli, it was confirmed with a resounding victory. In 2007, with the introduction of formula cars, it was Rosario Iaquinta who wrote his name in the golden book of the race. The editions from 2008 to 2015 saw the triumph, win record, the European and Italian champion Simone Faggioli who finally beats the record of the race of  Tschager bringing him first to 1'36''93 (2014) and then to 1'33 ' '53 (2015) and reaching 11 times the absolute success in the last 12 editions (the last 8 in row) with that of 2014 and 2015 at the wheel of the new Norma 20FC 3000 Zitek. In the two-year period 2016-2017 the young Domenico Scola with the Osella FA30 Zytek had a double win.


Pin It